Table for Two: Chapter 4

Table for Two: Chapter 4

T-Squared Energy Connections[i]

July 4, 1967 – Firecrackers

“How about a big hand for Sara Gibson, our leading lady and her horse Lilly,” the parade announcer said to the crowd in the reviewing stand.

“Sara’s been riding horses since before she could walk. Let’s all thank Sara and her cousin Stuart for getting the Hartsburg Annual Fourth of July Parade off to a beautiful start.”

Sara and Stuart waved to the moms, dads, grandparents and especially the kids lining the streets along the parade route.

Stuart leaned over toward Sara, “Let’s double back to Table for Two when we reach the end of the route. We can watch the rest of the parade and try the red, white and blue cake on the menu.”

“Sounds like a plan Stuart. I didn’t have time for breakfast this morning and I’m starving.”

* * *

Out of breath, Lucy, one of the twins who owns Table for Two, brought two slices of Firecracker Bundt Cake and two strawberry milkshakes tochaper-four-1 the table.

“Sorry it took so long getting your order out. Sadie’s off on an internship with an accounting firm in St. Louis this summer. I hired two part-timers to help, but I guess they both found better things to do today. Sadie owes me big time when she gets home.

“Did you notice the flyer? Table for Two will be open Friday nights for coffee, desserts, poetry and folk music. Mayor Jerry wants to bring more business downtown at night. He and Gladys will be here. Let me know by Thursday if you’re coming and I’ll reserve a table for you.”

* * *

“Thanks for doing the parade with me Stuart. I didn’t want to lead it by myself.”

“Glad to join you Sara. How many weeks since we went riding together? I want to catch up with you before the summer is over and we are both back at school. I’ll start.

“I declared a major in biochemistry, one of the hardest degrees at the University.  Ugh! I’m taking a summer lab class to lighten the load in the fall. Between lab hours and working part-time at the pickle factory, I meet myself coming and going. At least with labs there’s no homework.”

“Pickle factory? What on earth do you do at the pickle factory? I thought pickles grew in a field not in a factory,” Sara said with a smirk on her face.

“Very funny. Pickles start as cucumbers but are fermented, pasteurized and processed before they reach the store shelf. I measure the acid, pH, sugar and salt levels in the pickle liquor. The Food and Drug Administration publishes strict guidelines about pickle juice. Making pickles is a science,” Stuart said, holding back a laugh.

“Did you say you are majoring in biochemistry? What will you do after graduation, come up with a better pickle recipe.” Sara bit the inside of her mouth to stop giggling.

“Just what the world needs, a better pickle. Seriously, I love the research aspect of biochemistry. In another year or two I’ll decide on a specialty. How about you Sara? Any ideas what you want to do with the rest of your life?”

 

chapter-four-4“I think so. I’m going for a Master of Science in Physical Therapy with a specialty in Equine Assisted Therapy. It’s new in the United States.  However, Scandinavians started working with polio victims like me in 1946.  Eighteen years of riding helped me both physically and mentally. My leg braces disappear when I’m on a horse. I want to give other people with disabilities the same opportunity.”

“Wow. I didn’t realize you could get a degree in equine therapy. Does it include a class on the fine art of shoveling manure? Where there is a horse, there’s a shovel.”

“I think extra credit is offered for mucking the stalls. It just so happens Greeks used horses for therapy way back in Hippocrates time. I’ll need to make the case for completing my Master’s thesis in Germany, when the time comes. No formal program in equine therapy exists in this country, yet. Germany offers the best curriculum in the world.”

Sara and Stuart finished their Firecracker cake and shakes.

“Want to meet here Friday night, Sara? I’ll bring a friend if you do.”

“Sounds like fun. I’ll ask Lucy to save us a table for four.”

“Speaking of mucking out stalls, we better get Lilly and Dandy back to the farm. I’m sure they are ready for some oats. And when horses eat oats, horses make manure, and there’s bound to be a shovel nearby.”

“Let’s do it.”

chapter 4 fireworks.jpg

 

[i] T-Squared – In astrological charts the t-square configuration is a dynamic pattern that links and inter-locks energies. It can be seen in the major events, challenges, and themes that are encountered in life.

 

One thought on “Table for Two: Chapter 4

Leave a Reply

