Table for Two – Chapter 5

Table for Two – Chapter 5

T-Squared Energy Connections[i]

May 15, 1968 – Enough

“How is the happy couple? Only two weeks till the big day.” Lucy Abrams, one of the twins who owns Table for Two, brought a plate of samples for Gladys and Jerry to try.

“Traditional white wedding cake is at the top. Moving clockwise, next is our signature chocolate fudge followed by a tart lemon and last but, not least, a toasted coconut cake. Each has a different flavor frosting and a different filling. You can mix and match them however you choose. This is  lemon tea to cleanse your palette between bites. Enjoy! I’ll be back to find out what you decide on.”

“How many layers,” Jerry asked Gladys.

“Three. The top tier is saved and frozen, to be eaten on our first anniversary.”

“Will there be enough cake for everyone? Should we add a layer? Can each tier be different?” Jerry wanted to know.

“Every layer can be different. It’s our cake, we can do what we want. Yes, there will be enough for everyone. Lucy’s bringing a sheet cake as back-up.”

After tasting all four samples, Jerry wiped his mouth with a napkin.

“This is difficult. I vote coconut for the top, chocolate for the bottom, lemon in the middle, and white cake for the backup. What do you think, Gladys?”chapter-5-cake

“Sounds like a plan.” Gladys put down her fork and glanced at her watch.

“Gladys, that was too easy. You are so specific on other details for this wedding. Are you distracted? What gives?”

“First, I like your choices. Second, I’m more interested in what the outside looks like than the actual cake. Third, there are very few decisions I’m willing to compromise on. You can have this one. Fourth,…”

“Enough!” Jerry held up his hand. “I got it.”

* * *

Gladys’ Aunt Irma walked up to the table, “Am I too early? You sound like you’re in the middle of something important.”

Jerry stood and held out the chair for Irma.

“Excellent timing. We just selected flavors for the cake. Want to try? Sit here. I need to go back to the office. Talk to you later Gladys.” Jerry bent down and kissed Gladys on the cheek.

“I didn’t mean to chase him off. Is everything okay. Planning a wedding can be stressful.”

“We’re fine, Aunt Irma. He thought I would be more interested in the cake. I have enough details on my plate; I let him decide.”

“What’s our agenda today?”

“The final dress fitting is at ten. I still need shoes and a garter. The florist wants to finalize the number of bouquets, boutonnieres, decorations for the gazebo, and a list of other things. The rental company wants to know how many chairs to set up and if we want a tent in case of rain. On it goes. That’s why I don’t care about the inside of the cake.”

“Will the gazebo be finished in time?”
“Ned, the contractor building the gazebo, promises me it will be ready. If not, we’ll move the ceremony to the other side of the park, under the oak trees. Either will be beautiful.”

chapter-5-dress“Are you covered for something old, something new, something borrowed, and something blue?”[ii]

“I have the hankie mom carried at her wedding for old. New would be the dress. Jerry’s mother is lending me her head piece. That covers borrowed. As for blue, daddy gave me mother’s sapphire necklace for my twenty-first birthday.”

Irma pulled out a small jewelry box. “I would like to give you these sapphire earrings your mother gave me for my twenty-first birthday.”

“They’re beautiful Aunt Irma. They match my pendant. I’ve never seen them on you”

“I rarely dress up enough to wear them. Your mother would want you to have them.”

“They’re perfect!”   Gladys dabbed her eyes with a napkin as she hugged Irma.

* * *

chapter-5-flowers

After the ceremony Gladys and Jerry joined their guests for the reception.

Gladys’ father stood to toast the newlyweds. “Gladys, you are the center of my world. You are as beautiful as your mother, who is with us today in spirit. To Gladys and Jerry from your mother and me:

May you have enough happiness to keep you sweet;

Enough trials to keep you strong;

Enough sorrow to keep you human;

Enough hope to keep you happy;

Enough failure to keep you humble;

Enough success to keep you eager;

Enough friends to give you comfort;

Enough wealth to meet your needs;

Enough determination to make each day a better day than yesterday.”

“To Gladys and Jerry.”

chapter-5-gazebo

 

[i] T-Squared – In astrological charts the t-square configuration is a dynamic pattern that links and inter-locks energies. It can be seen in the major events, challenges, and themes that are encountered in life.

[ii] Something old represents continuity; something new offers optimism for the future; something borrowed symbolizes borrowed happiness; something blue stands for purity, love, and fidelity.

Leave a Reply

